Black Belt Test

There are a million things running through my mind right now.  I’ve got 15 minutes to crank my first SOL blog out before my 14-almost-15-year-old daughter’s black belt test.  Suffice it to say, this is a BIG deal, both SOL entry and a black belt test.    The crockpot is burbling with non-vegan bone broth, the laptops are newly charged, the whites are drying while the darks (load 3 today) are washing, and my resources for the first week of school lesson planning are awaiting.  So many things going through my head (in between, I am feeding the guineas, the rabbit, the cats, and the dog), anxious, nervous, excited about the potential of this new school year!  I just discovered the Slice of Life, the 40 Book Challenge, the Day-to-Day book from the Two Writer’s Blog, and I’m devouring everything, every chance I get.  I’ve got three blogs going and here I start a new one with 2 loads of laundry still to do and my beautiful, strong daughter getting ready to spar and cry (because I know it’s going to happen) and her non-karate-taking mother will squirm (it’s unpleasant) and be thinking in all of these special things going on in my head for the new classroom, as well as the day-to-day (not to be mixed up with the book by that name), never ending laundry, dishes, chauffeuring, grocery shopping, planning, folding, and cheerleading, and all my personal thoughts of when can I get to crossfit, what new yoga sequencing for class can I teach, and aren’t-I-excited-to-get-to-do-paddleboard-yoga next Saturday, there is nothing as SPECIAL as this test for Nina.  I couldn’t be more proud of her work in the past 9 years, watching her go from a bitty bug to a womanly buggly, experiencing her meet a challenge in that confrontational, determined way she does.  Even as she yells, “Don’t be late!” and my husband restates:  “Take lots of pictures!” because he is the head of the system and running the test, I am still thinking of all the things that would have normally been going on, and how lucky am I to get to experience this once-in-a-lifetime thing.  I only have one daughter, and in 2 hours, with tears, bruises, frustration, and (don’t forget) intensity, she will be a black belt.

7 thoughts on “Black Belt Test

  1. Welcome! I love how you put me right in the thick of it, right in the middle of your laundry loads, right in the middle of your busy-ness and concerns and excitement, right in the middle of your already-full plate. At first I thought you needed some more indentation, as if breaking this into three or four smaller paragraphs would do the trick. But the run-on, too-full paragraph seemed to fit just fine. Ya done good in this post, and seems like with your daughter, too. Bravo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

